6 week post-op Gastric Bypass Status & Retrospective !

Yesterday I had my 6 week follow-up appointment at my surgeon’s office.  I wasn’t too excited to weigh in because, like clockwork, his scale is always 7 pounds (exactly) higher than my scale at home.  At home, I weigh in the morning with  no extra weight on and at the doc’s I weigh in at the end of the day in clothes – so I have decided to ignore his scale and pay mind to my scale since that is the one I use weekly.  Problem solved – ignore the doctor’s scale! Indeed, yesterday his scale was 7 lbs higher than my home scale.

I was happy to report to my surgeon that I’ve had very little to complain about since my RNY on 8/11/14.  I am really thrilled with the results and honestly “I’m loving the pouch” as I like to say.

In retrospect, I surely wish I’d gotten the Bypass back in 2006 when I decided to go with the Lap Band.  (Reminder – my RNY surgery this year was a revision from the lap band).  The lap band helped me do two things – lose 40 pounds pretty fast and as I continued to work my butt off in the following 4 years, it did aid in my losing another 60 – because the band did help me from doing too much damage!  But in all honesty, that band was nothing but a pain in the you-know-what.  It was difficult to “work with”.  I always felt the port sticking through my skin.  I’d be doing a situp and feel it move.  And last but not least – It seemed I was always getting food stuck!

I feel lucky, in all honesty, that my lap-band “dilated” and in essence “failed” so I could get a revision to the RNY.  I really did get lucky – sounds silly right?  But truly – I got lucky.

I now feel like, for the first time since I was 21 years old, my goal-weight can be accomplished.  I know it won’t happen overnight, but by this time next year, it honestly makes me want to jump out of my skin thinking I could be in a size 10 jeans again.  Oh the thought of it!

My current status is that I’m down 27 pounds since my pre-op weight.  My surgeon was pleased with this stating that the average is 25 pounds in the first 6 weeks.  He expects me to take off another 25 in the coming 6 weeks again – Happily I say yes to that!

I have noticed this week I’ve been hungrier.  I was leveling out at 800 or 900 cals/day and my team told me I need to be up to 1000 now.  Ok!  I can do that.  Perfect timing too, because I guess my body is ready.

I started my walking program this week and plan to do a 5k at Thanksgiving time.  I’ll be pretty excited if I can plow through that with no problem.  I am excited to get back into this – I have really missed feeling strong and exercising.

So, again – here’s to health, happiness and good hair days!

-Kat

About The Wellness Sleuth

Hi, my name is Kat and I live on the east coast in the southern US. I'm a mom of a grown-up human and a furry puppy. I am a Software Engineer, Coach and small busines owner. I published a book in 2007 and keep meaning to start on #2...so, maybe blogging will nudge me along! Please check out the "about" page at thewellnesssleuth.wordpress.com to learn more about this Wellness Sleuth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

