First experience being “down in the dumps”!

I guess we all (and by “all” I mean RNY post-ops) do it — we make an error that causes us to “dump”!  OUCH!

I was just a month post-op last Thursday when we went away this past weekend. I was a bit anxious about dining out – it’s not something I really want to do very much right now.  I tried to be really careful of course, but as we know, we don’t really know exactly what a chef is putting into each dish.  So Friday night, my very first meal “out” – there it was – about one hour after eating at this amazing waterfront restaurant on the crystal coast of Carolina – pain in the center of my “gut”!  Then the weakness came on.  Then, I felt like I had the flu.  I knew right away – too much fat in my dinner tonight!!

Thankfully we ate late and when the “dumping” began, I was already in bed for the night.  I was able to just roll over and get through it.  But, I felt pretty guilty that I wasn’t more attentive. Excellent, a chance to beat up on myself I thought.  Old habits die hard.

Emotionally, it being my first time in a nice restaurant since surgery, it was a bit difficult.  My eyes wanted to gobble up everything on my boyfriend’s plate (yes, he had a rack of maple & bourbon glazed ribs — seriously!!), but in the end, I did not let my emotions run away. I looked out at the water and the beautiful sunset and just said out loud: “I am so grateful to be here”.  I was, indeed, grateful I could be there.  And I had this fabulous tool within me now so I was NOT able to overeat.  I was not able to eat all weekend and go home 5 or 8 pounds heavier.  I thought to myself: “Brilliant – I can be here in this beautiful place, have a few bites of some yummy things, and NOT have tight pants at the end of it all.”  Yes – brilliant!

It’s a strange life I’m living now with this “altered stomach” – some days it’s a bit overwhelming for a moment, but I just keep thinking: “I’m not giving up”.  I will do what it takes to be healthy and fit. If it doesn’t work one day, I will try again the next.  If I fall down – I will get back up again even stronger.  That’s how I have always been in life.  That’s who I am.  That’s how God made me and I am not going to let Him or myself down.

Giving up is NOT an option.

Here’s to health, happiness and good hair days 🙂

About The Wellness Sleuth

Hi, my name is Kat and I live on the east coast in the southern US. I'm a mom of a grown-up human and a furry puppy. I am a Software Engineer, Coach and small busines owner. I published a book in 2007 and keep meaning to start on #2...so, maybe blogging will nudge me along! Please check out the "about" page at thewellnesssleuth.wordpress.com to learn more about this Wellness Sleuth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

