4 weeks post-op – can this be love?

4 weeks ago today I was still in surgery (as I type this) with my RNY (aka: Gastric Bypass). My stomach as it was, would be forever altered. I feel so lucky because at only a few weeks out, I had already grown to love my new pouch. Over this past weekend as I walked through the grocery store, smelled the bakery and viewed the candy isle on my way to get bottled water – I realized I am in love with this new way of life. Why? Because I haven’t craved chocolate in 4 weeks. Because (at least for today) I can smell cookies without getting high and having to have “my fix”. This stomach alteration has given me the time and opportunity to truly (hopefully) get a grip on my food addiction. It may not last forever, but in the meantime, I am getting stronger and hopefully evolving to a better place other than the shackles of chocolate and baked goods!

Prior to this weight loss surgery, I took 2 Aleve everyday and sometimes Tylenol in between. Already, I have days where I take no Tylenol until just before bed when I take 1/2 of a Tylenol PM. Amazing. I didn’t have any other medical problems/medications (lucky me), so I have no other reports there. So for me, it truly is about my size.

I am down 22 pounds currently and while I had hoped I would take 30 off in the first 30 days, my support team has told me that 22 at this point is wonderful. So, I will be happy and just keep on with my “new rules” in life: (1) Be compliant – every single day. (2) Express gratitude – every single day. (3) Prayer. (4) Be complaint – in case I didn’t mention that.

I’ve never been an excellent rule follower in life, but this feels good. I know if I just “do the right thing” – every single day – I will not only get to my goal weight, but I will have built a fortress of strength and courage to never to return to the bondage of food. I am not saying it will be easy, but I am saying – I feel strong enough to do this – and I don’t just “think I can” .. “I know I can!”

Here’s to healthy, happiness and good hair days πŸ™‚

-KatΒ Untitled

About The Wellness Sleuth

Hi, my name is Kat and I live on the east coast in the southern US. I'm a mom of a grown-up human and a furry puppy. I am a Software Engineer, Coach and small busines owner. I published a book in 2007 and keep meaning to start on #2...so, maybe blogging will nudge me along! Please check out the "about" page at thewellnesssleuth.wordpress.com to learn more about this Wellness Sleuth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 4 weeks post-op – can this be love?

  1. Ginny says:

    Finally getting a chance to read this….thinking of you and wishing you lots of great thoughts! I know you can do this….slow and steady wins here, right??? No need to race to the finish line πŸ™‚ Take a deep breath and go slow….

  2. Barbara Anne says:

    I think you’re in the same place I was at a month out: everything starts to settle in your brain & you realize the wait is over and you’re actually Doing It. Greatest feeling ever!

  3. Thanks so much Barbara Anne! I hope I can do as well as you – you are a superstar!

Leave a Reply

