3 weeks Post-Op

Most days for the past couple of weeks I feel like I’ve been “altered” by my RNY forever already – or at least a lot longer than a mere three weeks.  But I know that isn’t true because I’m still overweight.  Honestly, I thought I would have been a little lighter by now. I’m 20 pounds down and while I won’t complain, I admit, it baffles me how I can be eating between 500 and 900 cals/day with 80 or 90 g’s of Protein and ONLY have lost 20 lbs?

I won’t complain – again, I’m focusing on the positives: Maybe I won’t lose muscle mass; maybe I won’t have as many wrinkles, and so on.  Hmm, mostly I’m focusing on: “Why is that darn dress still too tight?”  🙂

All in all, I am doing really well.  I’ve gotten a few “food items” “stuck” and gosh – I have got to learn NOT to do that.  Sometimes when I’m really hungry I forget – “go slow”!!  I tried some real food over the weekend (chicken, vege burger, and hmmm, something else) and yeah…ummm, no – not quite ready.  I have returned to puree/soups/etc. for at least this week.  I thought I was ready, but I guess not.  Ok, eating “real food” is really hard…I chewed each tiny bite like 50 times…and I was still stuffed after about 2 oz of food.  This is difficult on the head, that’s for sure!

Onward and forward….I truly had a goal of 30 lbs in 30 days….but, as I well know, my body can be very uncooperative.  I am so happy for those who lose 100 lbs in 6 months (kudos!!) but I am highly doubtful I will be so lucky.  More likely, this journey will be like the rest of my life – I have to work super hard for anything good.  But you know what – that just has to be OK.

My head is learning to love my RNY.  I do not have buyer’s remorse…I am only looking forward to a month, 6 months and a year from now.

Here’s to health, happiness, and good hair days 🙂

 

About The Wellness Sleuth

Hi, my name is Kat and I live on the east coast in the southern US. I'm a mom of a grown-up human and a furry puppy. I am a Software Engineer, Coach and small busines owner. I published a book in 2007 and keep meaning to start on #2...so, maybe blogging will nudge me along! Please check out the "about" page at thewellnesssleuth.wordpress.com to learn more about this Wellness Sleuth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 3 weeks Post-Op

  1. It’s only been three weeks, you’re still healing, don’t be so hard on yourself! You’ll still be getting rid of all the horrible anaesthetic and probably still some inflammation – everyone heals and detoxifies differently, don’t make assumptions at this stage, just look after yourself 🙂

  2. Thank you – you are right! I went to my first support group meeting and from hearing what others have lost according to their time frames, I feel so much better. There were some 3 mo’s out who are 25 down – so I absolutely feel better. I was worried “this isn’t working” – but you are so right, there are other variables too. Thanks!! Hope you are feeling well this week and I’m sure you are doing great at home!! And thanks for sharing those recipes the other day – curry lentil soup – YUM 🙂

  3. Barbara Anne says:

    I had trouble eating solid foods right away, too, and certainly did NOT get in 2 oz per meal right away- you go, girl. From my support groups, I know that often the 3rd week is hard while we try to find which foods work!

    Darcy’s right about the anesthesia impacting people for awhile and it hits us all differently. Just roll with it and try different foods. You’ll find your stride and then it gets easier.

Leave a Reply

