2 weeks post-op

I have officially flipped the page to 2 weeks post-op. I find myself very eager to be saying 2 months post-op and hoping I’ve lost some phenomenal volume of weight. I keep reading about people who drop 100 pounds in the first six months…and I think – nope, that won’t be me. I just don’t lose weight that fast in this body! But, we’ll see.

My scale and my doctor’s scale are in complete disagreement about how much I weigh. Granted, I weigh there in the afternoons with clothing on. At home I weigh first thing, so I guess a 5 pound difference might not be that unexpected. So I’ve decided to go by my scale and my scale only – after all, that’s the one I use on a semi-weekly basis.

After weighing this morning I appear to be down approximately 18.5 pounds from my pre-op highest. I’ll take that. The minimum I want to be down after 1 month is 30 pounds – so, I’m past half-way there and “I think I can!”

Sunday and yesterday I had a bad day so I barely got any food in. I *thought* I was ready for some very small pieces of scrambled egg. So I made my boyfriend and our dog (haha) some scrambled and took a spoonful for myself. Silly me – at them too fast…and yup – got stuck! OUCH OUCH OUCH. Oh the pain! It took me 2 days of going back to liquid to clear it out – finally, last night I felt better. Ok, lesson learned!! Silly girl. I just wasn’t being attentive to my chewing – no idea why – it just perhaps isn’t a “habit” yet? I definitely learned my lesson!

Hope all of you reading this are doing well on your journey. The past two weeks feel like it’s been at least a month….perhaps the RNY changes time? haha. By the way, one thing I am noticing – I am just not into chocolate or strawberry flavors right now! I never thought I’d see the day where I don’t want something chocolate…it was my #1 addiction my entire life…but right now, all I want is vanilla. I pray this sticks – I would be declared a miracle if I never crave chocolate again. I hope it stays away!! I will gladly take that.

Wishing you a happy day…!
-Kat

About The Wellness Sleuth

Hi, my name is Kat and I live on the east coast in the southern US. I'm a mom of a grown-up human and a furry puppy. I am a Software Engineer, Coach and small busines owner. I published a book in 2007 and keep meaning to start on #2...so, maybe blogging will nudge me along! Please check out the "about" page at thewellnesssleuth.wordpress.com to learn more about this Wellness Sleuth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2 weeks post-op

  1. Barbara Anne says:

    You sound like you’re doing well! I’m so happy for you. It’s tough the first few weeks as you begin to eat food. Texture’s a big deal but so is how moist/dry the food is and scrambled eggs are amazingly easy to cook too firm in the beginning. You’ll get the hang of it soon. I have to admit, I still struggle with eating too fast myself, but I’m proud to say I haven’t had anything stuck or come back up in over a month and a half. Also, don’t be shocked at how your tastes change when you try to eat some old favorites. It took until this past month for me to eat bananas raw instead of cooked. Weird!

    (I do read your posts the day you publish them- from my email on my phone. It may take a few days before I get onto my computer to post a reply but I’m thinking positive thoughts for you, Kat!)

  2. Hi Barbara Anne — thanks so much for your support – it really helps! Oh I’m so glad I’m not the only one who got something stuck.. I felt bad because I was only 2 weeks out when it happened…I should know better. I’ve learned I need to be VERY cognizant of my chewing when I’m having conversation during a meal. Oh boy!!

    Do you happen to remember how many calories per day you were getting in the beginning. Some days I am close to 1000 and I’m shocked. Mostly it’s when I do 3 protein shakes/day. Yesterday I was super low – only 500, but it was a weird day. I will say, I definitely feel hungry – no magic switch there – but…thankfully I fill fast and 1/2 C food does fill me – phew!!

    I feel worried some times this won’t work for me or work as well as it does for others. I can’t believe you are down 100 lbs in 6 months…I’m green with envy. As of Tuesday I was only down about 18 pounds – and I was thinking I’d lose more than that the first couple of weeks. Well, maybe my body is adjusting. I know we shouldn’t “compare”, but it’s hard not to right now because I know it will only get harder/slower as the weeks move on. Trying to be patient and just focus on “being complaint”!!

    How are you doing now Barbara Anne? BTW, have I mentioned the Retreat I’m going to? I don’t know if you live near NC but there is a retreat for post-op patients by NAWLS – (www.nawls.com)….not sure if you’d be interested in checking it out – or even just joining the website. There’s some good info there I find.at least for me!

    Have a great day in the BAL (bariatric after life) – 🙂

    • Barbara Anne says:

      Actually, like Darcy, I haven’t counted calories. My surgeon is big on “did you hit your protein, liquid and supplements/vitamins goals” so I haven’t bothered. My protein goal is 76-92 grams/day and an egg is usually 7 grams for comparison. I struggle to hit that protein goal without a protein drink but I’m sick of them.

      I think in the first 30 days I was “only” down about 30 lbs (“only” because when could I have done that on my own without some dangerous fasting?). It’s so very tough to avoid comparing our losses and I hope that you’ll be happy with your loss rate. I’ve been stunned by mine and it even worried me that there was something going wrong.

      I’m finally starting to feel better and that’s helping my mental health- this is a worrisome process and a lot of energy gets sucked up by focusing on being compliant! 🙂 Hang in there, lady, it does get easier.

  3. Ouch! You poor thing! My dietician told me to try poached eggs first, apparently scrambled eggs are often a problem because, as Barbara Anne said, they are often harder than we think they are and need more chewing than it feels they do!

    The taste change is fascinating – so many things that I didn’t think were that sweet before are suddenly too sweet, I’m drinking tea without sugar and it’s not just that I don’t mind it without sugar but it actually tastes sweet to me! I’m also enjoying herbal teas I’ve never liked before. I’m thinking that that is a sign that my body is in the “overfed” mode despite how little I’m “eating”.
    I’m not counting calories at the moment – just keeping an eye on the amount I’m getting in – my dietician says I need to try to aim for 1.5-2 litres of fluid (which includes everything soup – water etc) and try to get as many nutrients as I can in that much volume. She’s much more wholistic than most dieticians, and is more interested in nutrients than calories – after all the body goes into starvation mode, shutting down the metabolism because of a lack of nutrients, not calories – and she’s very aware that the whole point of this exercise is not to make the body feel it needs to be in starvation mode ever again! Hallelujah! 😀

    Glad you’re doing well aside from the scrambled egg incident. I’m not looking forward to my first “stuck” but I’ll be sure to share it lol!

  4. Thanks ladies for the support. I am SUCH a calorie counter by habit and if anything, I’m curious about how much I’m eating! You’re right, I need to focus on protein and I am amazed, I get in about 80 g’s /day…but like you said Barbara Anne, that’s because of the protein shakes. I’ve been trying to “mix them up” a bit and make it more interesting…like today I added a little brewed coffee to the chocolate and put in lots of ice…I pretended I was having a Starbucks Frapp…haha! Well – monday i’m 3 weeks out..I will weigh in again on tuesday and hope to have lost a few more. I’m still feeling like I should be losing faster, I mean, 700 to 900 cals/day..?? Shouldn’t it be peeling off? OY!! Happy weekend in the bariatric afterlife ladies!

    PS: Darcy – thanks for the link to those recipes – I LOVE the curry lentil soup one and have bought the ingredients 🙂 Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

