10-days post-op RNY

Already 10 days post-op? Yay!  I’m thrilled about that.  I am down about 13 pounds so far and starting to feel a little stronger.  Last night I finally got my bicycle out for a ride but really only got up the road and back.  I still have a lot of cramping/pain in my lower/left abdominal area where the Doc says a lot of bruising tends to happen inside.  (I try not to think about how my organs have been rearranged!!) 🙂

I am doing really well with food. I have no issues getting things down – am loving being able to have soup again (I love soups!).  I am getting in about 700 to 750 cals per day and trying to keep my protein about 90g per day to be on the safe side for me.

My favorite is the Unjury protein powder – I would highly recommend it.  And I am really enjoying the hot drinks and puddings from Bariatric Advantage (wonderlife line).  Lemon pudding for dessert – YUM!  I’m happy that there are so many products available so I can have flavors I enjoy without getting fat or sugar in.  Eventually I will start cooking myself, but right now, where this is all so new, I’m definitely going for convenience.  I love to cook, but I definitely don’t trust myself just yet.

Wishing everyone a blessed day.

About The Wellness Sleuth

Hi, my name is Kat and I live on the east coast in the southern US. I'm a mom of a grown-up human and a furry puppy. I am a Software Engineer, Coach and small busines owner. I published a book in 2007 and keep meaning to start on #2...so, maybe blogging will nudge me along! Please check out the "about" page at thewellnesssleuth.wordpress.com to learn more about this Wellness Sleuth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 10-days post-op RNY

  1. Riding your bike after ten days – go girl!!! Great to hear how well you’re doing. Healing vibes going your way, Darcy.

    • Thank you so much! I have to say, other than this sort of “cramping” type pain in my lower/left abdominal, I feel pretty good. So how are you doing Darcy and you’ve had your surgery at this point right? I think you are a day ahead of me so I’m assuming you are home now? Hope the liquids are going down well for you and you are feeling pretty good!

      • Yes, I had my surgery yesterday afternoon, so I still have 3 more nights in hospital – if everything is going well. I believe I’ll start the clear fluids while I’m here but at the moment I’m just on ice chips. They have given me a few tablets to take, though and they went down fine so I’m sure the soups will too. I’m looking forward to getting home!

      • That is great to hear. Gosh it is so different here in the states. We only stay in the hospital 1 night. I had my surgery on Monday and was on liquids the next day and home the next day. So different! All the best to you passing the time, etc. It does sort of go by fast in the hospital !

Leave a Reply

