Countdown to Weight Loss Surgery

I am thrilled that one month from today I will be being discharged from the hospital and officially be in my “bariatric afterlife.” It still feels odd to be “excited” for surgery, but what I have to remember is that I’m excited about changing my life; getting a fresh start; moving forward into health – not the actual surgery process!

I have been reading everything I can not only about the surgery and the weeks after, but more importantly, the lifetime after. I know that it is possible to loose all the weight you need to, then gain it back anyway.  I have accepted, and welcome the fact, that for the rest of my life I will attend support groups, meet with a nutritionist, and do whatever else it is I need to do to become and STAY healthy.

Unlike the many people who have “tossed the scale”, I will actually be purchasing one and yes, becoming friends with it.  For me, I don’t believe in the theory of “tossing the scale”, eating what I want only in moderation and only “when I’m hungry”, etc.  I guess for me, that never worked.  I admire people who that works for, however, when you are a Food Addict, you have to be diligent and stand watch – and indeed, this is me.

I accept that I’m going to have to think about food every day, face the battle every single time I want to put something on my taste buds that I shouldn’t.

Today I ate a glazed doughnut.  Delicious and disgusting.  Euphoric and guilt ridden.  Truly not worth it.  I did it because I did not think about it.  I consciously chose to UNCONSCIOUSLY buy it and eat it.  Those days are numbered.  They are numbered at 29 to be exact.

Counting down.  Anxiously waiting for the day.  Ready, ready, ready.

 

 

About The Wellness Sleuth

Hi, my name is Kat and I live on the east coast in the southern US. I'm a mom of a grown-up human and a furry puppy. I am a Software Engineer, Coach and small busines owner. I published a book in 2007 and keep meaning to start on #2...so, maybe blogging will nudge me along! Please check out the "about" page at thewellnesssleuth.wordpress.com to learn more about this Wellness Sleuth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Countdown to Weight Loss Surgery

  1. Barbara Anne says:

    In the months before my gastric bypass, I made a list of things that I would have one last time. I kept it in my car and checked off the items when I bought them- I never even made it through the dozen items on the list! Don’t feel guilt ridden about a glazed doughnut because you can say “that was my last one” if you don’t intend to eat them in the future. 🙂

  2. Thank you Barbara Anne – that is a good point. Even when I was eating it, I felt “gross” and I was looking forward to the day when I can no longer do that! This weekend my boyfriend and I had cheesecake. Just a small slice each and I put it on pretty plates and served it on a tray. I ate it very slow, took me 30 minutes, and enjoyed every bite. But even through every bite I could “feel” – this is NOT good for me. So yeah, I am so ready. 4 weeks from today – I wish it were TODAY. I’m completely miserable at this point and the only reason I’m hanging on is because I know that in 4 weeks my life will finally change again!! Good luck to you for a good week!!

Leave a Reply

