Change is on the way

Indeed, I am on the road to a big change as I have just gotten my Gastric Bypass surgery date!  I will have this ever-so-strange event come to be on August 11th.  I am eager, anxious, and oddly enough – excited.

I have to give myself a double-take when I say “I’m excited for surgery.”  How odd is that?  I think about what I’m about to do to myself in the name of health and body size and, again, a little strange. It’s a little strange because I grew up hearing about the Depression and how my parents sometimes had to just have lettuce for lunch and beans for dinner. Yet I am a grown up in a time where an extremely high percentage of Americans are Obese.  We throw away so much food everyday. Food seems unlimited to most of us. More than a little strange.  For some people this is a good thing. For those of us who became addicts when we didn’t know there was such a thing – not so good.

But, the world is what it is and we have to play the hand we are dealt – the best we can.  So that’s what I am doing.  The best I can with all that I know, with all that I have, and all that is meant to be mine.

Courage is what counts…right?  Courage. Intention. Action…then a little more courage.

 

About The Wellness Sleuth

Hi, my name is Kat and I live on the east coast in the southern US. I'm a mom of a grown-up human and a furry puppy. I am a Software Engineer, Coach and small busines owner. I published a book in 2007 and keep meaning to start on #2...so, maybe blogging will nudge me along! Please check out the "about" page at thewellnesssleuth.wordpress.com to learn more about this Wellness Sleuth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

